Video:How to Apply for a Marriage License in Texaswith Nick Jaynes
Want to learn how to apply for a marriage license in Texas? Here, see information about the process before you plan your Texas wedding.See Transcript
Transcript:How to Apply for a Marriage License in Texas
Hi I'm Nick Jaynes for About.com and this is How to "Apply for a Marriage License in Texas." I'll be using information found on About.com's Marriage Guide Site.
Information About How to Apply for a Marriage License in Texas
You can help make your Texas wedding less stressful by knowing about the marriage laws and regulations of Texas.
ID Requirement: In Texas, you will need one valid form of id such as drivers license, certified copy of your birth certificate, U. S. passport, military ID card, and your Social Security number.
Residency Requirement: Neither one of you have to be a resident of Texas. Texas is a great locale for a destination wedding!
Renewal of Vows or Secret Marriage Remarriage: It doesn't matter if the couple was previously secretly married or just wants to renew their marriage vows, according to the Texas state laws, a county clerk must issue a marriage license to a couple who is already married to each other if they want to get married again.
Additional Information About How to Apply for a Marriage License in Texas
Proxy Marriage: Yes. In Texas, any adult person can apply on behalf of an applicant who is unable to appear personally before the county clerk. An affidavit of absence form must be provided. If you are incarcerated and are unable to be present for your wedding ceremony, you can also request a Prison Proxy form.
Pre-marital Education: According to Texas law, couples are encouraged to attend a premarital education course that covers important marital skills and issues such as conflict management and communication and that is at least eight hours duration. It must be finished during the year preceding your applying for a marriage license. Contact the county clerk for a roster of area course providers.
Aside from the benefit of being better prepared for marriage, TwogetherInTexas.com states "Texas couples who complete a qualifying premarital education workshop will have $60.00 of the marriage license fee waived, as well as the 72-hour waiting period.
"Previous Marriage: If divorced within thirty days, Texas requires that you show a certified copy of your divorce decree stating the 30 day waiting period is waived.Waiting Period in Texas:The 72 hours (3 days) waiting period in Texas can be waived for active duty military personnel.
Thanks for watching. If you'd like to learn more, please find us on the web at About.com.