6 Kingdoms of Life Video
  1. Education

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Video:6 Kingdoms of Life

with Milo De Prieto

The six kingdoms of life are used by scientists to properly classify the organisms on Earth. Learn more about the six kingdoms of life, including what organisms are part of each kingdom.See Transcript

Transcript:6 Kingdoms of Life

Hello I'm Milo for About.com and today we're talking about the six kingdoms of life, using information from About.com's Biology site.

Three Domains for the Six Kingdoms of Life

For a couple thousand years thinkers have been working on systems for classifying the different types of living organisms and elements in our world.The more we discover, the more ways of talking about organisms we get. For instance we now have three domains based on the molecular building blocks of life, called RNA. All bacteria fall into one of the first two domains: Archaea and Bacteria, and everything else falls into the third domain: Eukarya.

Classification Rules for the Six Kingdoms of Life

So within these three domains there are 6 kingdoms. Archaebacteria, Eubacteria, Protista, Fungi, Plantae, and Animalia. Organisms are placed into these categories based on similarities or common characteristics. Some of the characteristics that are used to determine placement are cell type, metabolism, and reproduction.

Archaebacteria Is the First Kingdom of Life

Archaebacteria have been discovered in some of the most extreme and toxic environments on Earth such as hydrothermal vents. Like many single-cell organisms, they reproduce asexually through binary fission, budding, or fragmentation.

Eubacteria Is the Second Kingdom of Life

Eubacteria, the name means true bacteria. Their nutrition comes from absorption photosynthesis, or chemosynthesis.

Protista Is the Third Kingdom of Life

Protista include amoebae, green algae, brown algae, and slime molds among others. They survive on absorption, photosynthesis, or ingestion.

Fungi Is the Fourth Kingdom of Life

Fungi, this group includes: Mushrooms, yeast, and moldsTheir Nutrition comes through absorption.

Plantae Is the Fifth Kingdom of Life

Plantae, this group also includes trees, herbs, and bushes as well as the organisms listed here. Their main source of food comes from photosynthesis.

Animalia Is the Sixth Kingdom of Life

Animalia include a wide range of organisms such as mammals, amphibians, sponges, insects, and worms.

For more information on science and biology, check us out at About.com.

About videos are made available on an "as is" basis, subject to the User Agreement.

©2015 About.com. All rights reserved.