Astrological Birth Charts - The 12 Houses of Birth Charts Video
  1. Religion & Spirituality

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:

was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing with others!

Most Emailed Articles

The Bible and Suicide

Video:The 12 Houses of Birth Charts

with Bonnie Zaiss

Astrological birth charts can be difficult to understand, particularly the meaning of the 12 houses of the birth chart. Here's a short and informative explanation of just what the 12 houses of an astrological birth chart are.See Transcript

Transcript:The 12 Houses of Birth Charts

Hi, I'm Cindy Turner for Your birth chart is an observation of the positions of all the planets – including the sun and the moon – at the exact time and place of your birth. Each planet's location in an astrological sign and house is a tiny piece of an intricate puzzle that reveals who you are.

Components of Your Astrological Birth Chart

There are several main players that make up your birth chart and they all contribute in different ways. Planets and zodiac signs are considered energies. The planets represent our needs or drives. The zodiac signs modify the planet's energies. And the Houses are where the energies are expressed.

The Wheel of Houses

The Wheel of Houses is one of 2 major circles that make up your birth chart. The first circle is the zodiac signs and the second one is made up of the 12 Houses. This wheel of houses is based on the Earth's 24-hour rotation on its own axis. They are symbolized here on the birth chart in a counter-clockwise pattern. They represent different departments in our life in a developmental path starting with "The Individual" at the 1st house and ending at "Subconscious" at the 12th house.

Meaning of Each of the 12 Houses

Let's take a look at each of the houses:
  • House 1: This is the beginning of our development. It's about our personality and temperament. It includes our physical body, our appearance and our views on life.
  • House 2: Is about how we value ourselves and what we have. Our self-worth and self-esteem. It's also about our money and our worldly material possessions - our cars, property and furniture.
  • House 3: Is about communication - from gossip to reading and writing. It's also about our relationships in our immediate environment such as our family and neighbors.
  • House 4: Physically refers to our home including our childhood home and our family influences in the past and present.
  • House 5: Has to do with pleasure, creativity and love affairs. It's how we relate to children, our romantic partnerships and what is fun for us.
  • House 6: Is about work, our responsibilities and the routine stuff. It's about the daily details of life such as personal hygiene and how we deal with life's everyday challenges.
  • House 7: Is frequently referred to as the house of marriage. It includes all affairs of the heart that work and fail including divorce, friendships and business partnerships.
  • House 8: Shows how we deal with material loss and other powerful transformations such as injury, loss and death.
  • House 9: Is our spiritual and philosophical views of the world. This House is about big ideas and big thoughts. It also includes journeys across foreign lands to expand our mind.
  • House 10: Is about your calling, your reputation, your honor and your social status.
  • House 11: Refers to your humanitarian interests and how you relate to the society in which you live. It's about your aspirations as well as your friendships.
  • House 12: Refers to the subconscious, spiritual realization. In the physical plane, the 12th house is about things that take us away from freedom and everyday life such as prisons, funerals, confinement and other endings.
The astrological houses are only a part of your astrological make-up. All the other astrological factors must be included to get an accurate reading of your unique birth chart.

Thanks for watching. To learn more, visit us on the web at
About videos are made available on an "as is" basis, subject to the User Agreement.

©2015 All rights reserved.